2017-18 AHS athletic awards announced

Atascadero has announced the recipients of the 2017-18 AHS athletic awards. 

This year’s recipient of the David B. Hamilton Memorial Scholarship is Kamren Brown.  Kamren played football all four years in high school, was a two-year varsity starter, PAC 8 Defensive linemen of the year and Team MVP. He is a hardworking, dedicated, talented athlete who is a leader amongst his peers.  Brown plans to continue his education at Hancock College and continue to play football  


The 2017-2018 Bud and Helen Ewing Scholarship is awarded to Abagail Wright as selected by the Ewing family.

Wright was a three-sport athlete participating in volleyball, water polo, and swim. She was all-league in water polo and volleyball and selected MVP in swim. Wright earned 9 varsity letters and plans on attending Colorado State


This year’s recipient of the Scholar-Athlete award also goes to Abagail Wright. Wright was a three-sport athlete who not only excelled on the playing field but the classroom as well. Wright accumulated a 4.3 GPA and is an outstanding role model for any student-athlete to follow.  She plans on attending Colorado State in the fall and majoring in Civil Engineering.


The Brian Russell award is given to a student demonstrates outstanding leadership ability, good athletic ability, and friendliness which knows no boundaries. The recipient is organized, energetic and is fun to be around. The 2017-2018 recipient is Alex Cooper. Alex is a three-sport athlete who competed in football, basketball, and track all four years and was also a two time PAC 8 all-league offensive lineman.


Ranked by their senior year athletic accomplishments, the 2017-2018 female Athlete of the Year Award goes to Taylor Degnan. Degnan competed in volleyball, basketball, and softball. Earning 10 varsity letters, Degnan was the MVP in both basketball and volleyball and all-league in volleyball and softball. Degnan is a deserving, versatile student-athlete both on the field and in the classroom. She plans on attending Cal State East Bay and playing volleyball. We are proud and honored to award the female Athlete of the Year to Taylor Degnan.


The 2018-2018 Male Athlete of the Year Award goes to Kyler Warren. Warren competed in both water polo and basketball. He was named MVP, and all-league in both water-polo and basketball and earned six varsity letters. Warren plans to attend Cal State Monterey Bay and continue playing basketball. We are proud and honored to award the male Athlete of the Year to Kyler Warren.


Video News
More In Sports