The Community Foundation SLO County awards $230,000 in Scholarships

The SLO County Board of Supervisors congratulated 11 recipients of the Richard J. Weyhrich Leadership Award at their May 21 meeting. Names: Supervisors Adam Hill, Debbie Arnold, Bruce Gibson and John Peschong with honorees Steven Dystra and Wendy Teodoro (Arroyo Grande High School), Karis Lawson (Coast Union High School), Patricia Clark (Mission College Preparatory), John Diodati (Morro Bay High School), Madrid Holland (Nipomo High School), Brooke Milder and Marshall Wiesner (Paso Robles High School), Lilian Svetich (San Luis Obispo High School), Lynea Valencia (Shandon High School), and Karly Dumont (Templeton High School). (Contributed photo)

Sixty local students benefit from the generosity of local donors

SAN LUIS OBISPO ― The Community Foundation San Luis Obispo County has awarded $230,000 in scholarships to 60 graduating students. These scholarships are awarded to high school seniors across San Luis Obispo County to support them as they seek higher education. Scholarships are awarded to students for academic rigor, financial need, extracurricular achievements or commitment to their community.
Many of the scholarships offered through The Community Foundation are multi-year scholarships and offer financial support to students through their academic careers. The multi-year scholarships are instrumental in providing students with the resources to succeed not only in their first year but in receiving their degree and finishing their pursuit. Areas of college study for our recipients include engineering, mathematics, automotive studies, nursing, and the sciences.
“Each year, it is our privilege to acknowledge and award our hard-working, high-achieving and community-driven high school seniors in San Luis Obispo County,” said Heidi McPherson, CEO of The Community Foundation. “We are thankful to our donors and their generous commitment to enhancing the education and future of our youth.”
For more information about The Community Foundation scholarships that are available at the beginning of each spring, contact Senior Scholarship Program Associate, Angela Hollander at or 805-543-2323.


More In News