After months of campaigning, the preliminary results are in for the local candidates and measures.

As of 11:13 p.m., Tuesday night, current Atascadero Mayor Heather Moreno is leading with 43% of the vote, Jerry Tanimoto is in second with 35%, and Josh Donovan with 21%.

Incumbent, Charles Bourbeau, and Mark Dariz are in the lead for the two city council seats with 28% and 25% of the votes, respectively.

Tori Keen trails with 24%, Nic Mattson with 17%, and Bret Heinemann with 6% of the vote.


The Atascadero School Board has three seats open, and as of now, all three incumbents, Mary Kay Mills with 26%, Terri Switzer with 26%, and Corrine Kuhnle with 25%, will continue on the board. Newcomer Vy Pierce came in at 22%.

As for the measures, Measure D-20, Atascadero’s 1% Sales Tax passed with 61%. And Measure C-20 AUSD School Bond passed with 55%.

To see the full results for local and national, click here.