Current Atascadero Mayor Heather Moreno is in the lead at 53.89 percent, with Susan Funk at 46.02 percent

SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY — The first results of the Primary Election are in from Super Tuesday, March 5. The highlighted run of this election was between current Atascadero Mayor Heather Moreno and Atascadero City Councilmember Susan Funk for the District 5 San Luis Obispo County Supervisor’s seat. The district represents Atascadero, Cal Poly State University (portion), California Valley, Creston, Garden Farms, Pozo, San Luis Obispo (portion), and Santa Margarita. The position is currently held by Supervisor Debbie Arnold, who is not running for re-election.

It is a tight race for District 5. As of the final results report posted just after 12 a.m. Tuesday, Moreno is in the lead at 53.89 percent (4,586 votes) and Susan Funk is at 46.02 percent (3,916) — 670 votes separate the two.

With only two candidates running for District 5 Supervisor, the one who comes out of the March election will take the seat. Moreno’s term as mayor runs through 2024, and Councilmember Charles Bourbeau has already announced his bid for that seat. Funk’s term on council runs through 2026.


In response to the midnight results, Moreno told Atascadero News/Paso Robles Press, “I am deeply grateful to everyone who voted for me, supported my candidacy, and actively participated in our campaign. If current trends persist, I eagerly anticipate the opportunity to serve our entire county on the Board of Supervisors starting in January. I am dedicated to making a meaningful, positive impact on our community.”

Funk told Atascadero News/Paso Robles Press, “We have run a strong, grass-roots campaign, and I am proud and grateful for all the volunteers and voters who have given me their support. Now is the time to tally the ballots. Each voter matters, and each vote counts the same. We will watch and wait as the rest of the ballots are processed and counted.”

According to the San Luis Obispo County Clerk-Recorder Office Voter Information Calendar, the timeline of the election results are: 

  • March 12: Last day a ballot postmarked on or before Election Day and received by the Elections Office can be counted
  • April 2: Mailed Ballot signature verification deadline for Elections Office to verify signature match on incomparable or unsigned Vote-by-Mail identification envelopes
  • March 6 through April 4: Registrar of Voters to certify election results
  • April 12: The final official elections results certified by the California Secretary of State
  • April 16: County of San Luis Obispo Board of Supervisors to declare the results of the March 5, Presidential Primary Election

Below are election results from the March 5 count, which was available at the time of print.

San Luis Obispo County Supervisor District 1

John Peschong — 99.65 percent (6,243)

San Luis Obispo County Supervisor District 3

Dawn Ortiz-Legg — 94.96 percent (6,682)

San Luis Obispo County Supervisor District 5

Susan Funk — 46.02 percent (3,916)

Heather Moreno — 53.89 percent (4,586 votes)

Presidential Primary Election Race (County Results)

Democratic Primary:

  • Joe Biden — 93.95 percent (20,308)

Republican Party:

  • Donald J. Trump — 75.09 percent (14,189)
  • Nikki Haley — 21.48 percent (4,058)


  • California US Senate (Full Term) — Adam Schiff is currently leading the race at 39.01 percent with Steve Garvey close behind at 33.61 percent.
  • California US Senate Special (Partial Term) — Steve Garvey is in the lead with 35.61 percent and Adam Schiff follows close at 32.89 percent 
  • Prop 1 Behavioral Health Services Measure — 51.39 percent voting no and 48.61 percent voting yes.
  • California US House District 19 — Jason Anderson is in the lead with 50.14 percent and Jimmy Panetta following with 46.99 percent.
  • California US House District 24 — Salud Carbajal is in the lead with 58.36 percent and Thomas Cole in second with 36.35 percent.
  • California State Senate District 17 — John Laird is currently in the lead with 55.57 percent and Tony Virrueta follows behind with 27.19 percent. 
  • California State Senate District 21 — Monique S. Limon is in the lead with 53.39 percent with Elijah Mack 46.57 percent.
  • California State Assembly District 30 — Dawn Addis is in the lead with 56.80 percent and Dalila Epperson with 43.15 percent.
  • California State Assembly District 37 — Gregg Hart 51.66 percent, with Sari Domingues following behind with 48.32 percent.

For voting inquiries, contact the Elections Office at (805) 781-5228 or Additional information can be found on the Voter FAQ page, and detailed election information at