The classic film “12 Angry Men” was released in 1957.  50 years later, in 2007, the film was selected for the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.  

The stage version, updated as “12 Angry Jurors,” presents the same personality and morality conflicts, as one member of the jury uses logic and reason to argue ‘not guilty’ for a young man accused of murder.  What starts out as a calm discussion builds to frustration, irritation, confrontation and eventually a violent outburst before the jurors recover their tempers and ultimately arrive at a unanimous verdict.

Kelli M. Poward, who is on the BTSP board and directed last season’s “Of Mice and Men” says, “Classic plays like these are timeless and still incredibly relevant in today’s world. Bringing their stories and messages alive again to a modern audience is one of the most satisfying things about working in community theater.”

The cast includes several new faces, as well as actors already familiar to BTSP audiences, including Chrys Barnes, Larry Barnes, Heather Babcock, Allen Bundy, Joyce Calderone, Troy Daum, Edgar DeLaCruz, Allie Doody, Travis Horton, Christopher Law, Randall Lyon, Patrick McCoy, Jean Miller and Montgomery Norton.


“12 Angry Jurors” opens March 16, and plays weekends through April 5, with performances on Friday and Saturday evenings at 7pm and Sunday Matinees at 3 pm.  Tickets are $20 and available online at, by phone at 805-776-3287, or at the door, at 545 Shasta Ave in Morro Bay.